Dark Days, Then and Now

Some of you may remember that I did the Dark Days Eat Local Challenge last year.  This is the challenge by which we attempt to cook at least one local meal a week.  Even though I am no rookie this year, it feels like so much more of a challenge this time around.  Here’s a glimpse at how life is different.

Then:  I was in my third trimester with nesting instincts manifested through cooking.

Now: I have a 10 month old that is full-on walking.  (oh yea, did I forget to mention that?  He’s done with crawling.)

Then: I was fresh off a trial team and coasting into maternity leave.

Now: Like all lawyers of our day, am hyper aware of the economy and throwing as much time at my job that I possibly can.

Then: Apartment Dweller two blocks away from the farmer’s market.

Now: New homeowner!  but farmer’s market is 20 minutes walk or a drive away.

Anyhoo, the challenge does not officially begin till Nov. 15, but what the hey, let’s give it a go! 

Tonight’s dinner: braised lamb shanks cooked in Turnbull Sauvignon Blanc, garlic & baby garlic, rosemary and thyme; celeriac and baby yukon potato & green onion mash; and mixed greens.  All local from farmers’ market, except for salad dressing which was not local.

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    November 12, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I am so very impressed with you! It sounds great and can’t wait to see what you cook up (wink, wink) next!


Leave a Reply

