Pride of Ownership

One of the first things you are supposed to pay attention to when looking to buy a house is what is the pride of ownership in the neighborhood.  The example most often given is whether people take care of their front yard.  The guilt was nagging at me because we did not have a lawn mower and the grass was looking a bit shaggy.

Initially I thought we’d buy an old-fashioned manual push mower, but I couldn’t find any positive reviews.  I also wanted to be able to capture the clippings for composting.  So, we did the next best thing — mooched the mower from my parents.   J. and I enjoyed pushing it around the yard and Max enjoyed watching.  Who knew one pass at the yard would create so many clippings!

In other garden news, I have not yet killed the Rosemary of Arugula from two weeks ago. (pics included as proof)  I felt so good about that that I purchased seedlings for Chard, beets, and a new fangled Basil.

Now, the one thing I wussed out on was making my own raised beds.  It felt like a little too much of a project at this juncture.  If I am successful with these planters, perhaps I’ll go for the raised beds for spring  time. Baby steps.  

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    November 19, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Looking good! I think raised beds for springtime is a good idea – plus, it’ll give you time over the winter break to plan the garden you need. I discovered that my impulse placement/purchases for the garden sometimes weren’t the wisest. I am looking forward to seeing what you decide to do!


Leave a Reply

