Dark Days and Catching Up

It’s time to catch up on my life, catch up on the blog, and catch up with Max who is running all over the place.  Yes, running.

You know how you wish for a weekend day when you can just hang out in bed?  Well, careful what you wish for.  I’m sick as a dog and didn’t leave the bed till 3.  Worse yet, I’ve completely lost my voice, which is driving me crazy.  Thankfully we have grandparents in the area that have pitched in with Max.

I was kind of hoping to be able to hit a farmer’s market today and make a meal worthy of kicking off the Dark Days challenge.  Didn’t happen.  But earlier in the week I made a meal that got fairly close.   We picked up some beef spare ribs at the Sunnyvale farmer’s market.  I roasted some broccoli.  The non local stuff: the pasta, and the can of tomato that I used as part of the slow cooking.  We used local herbs, local beer, local garlic.  I look forward to the day when I can make fresh pasta like (not so) Urban Hennery.

To catch you up the garden, I’m really excited at how it’s going.  I tasted my first arugala in the garden.  It was fresh and peppery and a little bitter and I loved it!  The chard is recovering from neighborhood cat exploration.  The beets and basil look good so far.  The rosemary is definitely growing.  So far, no fatalities!  I am seduced by this by wondering what else to plant?  Should I plant more chard to keep the old chard company (and get a staggered harvest)?  Is it time to plant mint?   Should I think big and finally plant a lemon tree?

I’m also having a lot of fun with the compost pile.  I wonder how I’ll ever get “finished compost” when I keep adding new food scraps & clippings and mixing it in.   It also doesn’t seem that easy to get to the stuff at the bottom of the pile.  I wonder if I’ll have to deconstruct the box to get to it.  Shouldn’t be too hard as it’s basically a bunch of lincoln logs.

I hope tomorrow I’m feeling up to going to our old farmer’s market.   But I have to force myself to get better because I can’t afford another crap billing week.  Grr.

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    November 22, 2009 at 5:49 am

    That’s great news about the garden. And I’m impressed you’re doing it all in containers. I look forward to hearing what you find out along the way. Let me know how the beets work out – I’ve not tried root veggies myself…

  2. Gretchen said,

    November 22, 2009 at 5:50 am

    And feel better soon!!!


Leave a Reply

