Turkey Stock on Hour 7

Our house smells amazing.  Again.  Yesterday I made one of the turkey’s for J.’s family’s celebration.  It was my first attempt at making a turkey all by myself.   Using my mom’s recipe, it went very well.    The particulars:  sage/thyme butter under the skin.  In the stuffing we had leeks, apple, cranberry, sausage, rosemary.  Then I caramelized a giant skillet full of onions and shallots. and added them to the turkey drippings.  That ended up making the gravy.  The turkey got an apricot jam glaze from apricots I preserved myself in the summer.    I was so exhausted by the end of the night that I fell asleep at 9pm. 

Today I stopped by my mom’s to borrow her giant soup pot.  Making stock in two pots last year was fun and all — but I was ready for some simplification.  I had considered buying one myself but that would have required my violating “buy nothing day”  (which I’ve been faithfully adhereing to for 3 years).

Turns out my mom wasn’t feeling well, so I got a turkey stock started for her and hopefully she’s been enjoying a few good bowl fulls this evening.

Then I came home and got started on our stock.  It’s on hour seven and the house smells lovely.  I think I’ll let it go for a few more hours while I do some work.  (The fun part is that we got two carcasses this year.  I froze the other one for some stock in the future)

Max has had a lovely holiday.  He has eaten plenty of turkey (light and dark meat), yams, potatoes, stuffing and a little bit of pumpkin pie that J.’s mom made. 

(photos to follow tomorrow?)

1 Comment

  1. Theresa said,

    November 28, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Sounds wonderful!


Leave a Reply

