Dark Days Ducktastic Eggs

One of the foods I’ve been counting down to when Max gets to start eating is eggs!  It’s one of those things that is easy to always have around the house and cooks up in no time.  It can also be a great finger food.  My mom told me eggs were one of the first foods introduced when we were growing up, but the vogue now is to hold off until year 1 due to allergens.  So, here we are, almost at the one year mark and I couldn’t wait!  Max had a huge orange-yolked egg from the farmers market. Scrambled.

To celebrate, I also had something I’ve been jonesing for … duck egg toad in the hole!

I made it with local bread from Le Boulanger, a duck egg from the sunnyvale farmer’s market, local butter, and a garcreamy garlic cheese spread from the farmer’s market as well.  What I was most impressed about re: this meal is that I made it for breakfast on a crazy weekday morning.  I admit that I skip breakfast most days now.

I could so go for one right now, but we’re out of bread till tomorrow morning’s farmer’s market.  This dish may make an appearance when the inlaws come to visit tomorrow.

2 Comments

  1. Theresa said,

    December 5, 2009 at 7:47 am

    I am drooling on my keyboard! Yummmmm…

  2. December 8, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    […] was a Ducktastic week for Einat, Almostima, with her son’s first scrambled egg and duck egg toad in the hole for her. Excellent way to […]


Leave a Reply

