Dark Days #4 – Losing my mind & finding hope

First, I’m late on my dark days post, and will likely miss the posting deadline to make it in the recap.  All I can do is my best.

This week I made brussels sprouts for the first time.  That’s right. First time.  I’ve been afraid of the sprout, but I’ve conquered my fear.  This recipe was local leeks, sprouts and questionable (likely not local) bacon — which made the dish, so I don’t regret it.  I served it along side salmon from the farmer’s market which J. cooked up beautifully on the BBQ.

So, now that’s taken care of… some venting.  I’m uncharacteristically stressed out.  Couldn’t find my cell phone this morning.  Couldn’t make it out of my office till an hour later than I expected.  Couldn’t find my camera for 20 minutes prior to this post.  But, I did find a package in the mail with glorious heirloom seeds for the garden.  The rundown:

  • Cucumber
  • Chocolate sweet peppers
  • Tomatoes “mix”
  • Sunflower
  • Borage
  • Spinach
  • Autumn King Carrots

Do I know what I’m doing?  Hell no.  But let’s figure it out!  Any tips are welcomed!

3 Comments

  1. December 16, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    […] to go sustainable, organic, local and ethical with your food, and take your family with you. Almostima almost lost her mind, but overcame her fear of Brusselss Sprouts with this week’s Dark Days […]

  2. Gretchen said,

    December 17, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    I’m excited to see what happens with the seeds. Where did you buy them? I’ve sent for two catalogs of seeds for my planning this winter and am so looking forward to trying to grow more veggies. BTW, I loved my borage, but never actually ate it – always as a drink accent 🙂

  3. almostima said,

    December 17, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    I ordered them online at http://www.bountifulgardens.org
    I need to figure out how to actually organize the garden. I know space will fill up fast…


Leave a Reply

