Sprouting New Beginnings for the New Year

I had an amazing first day of the new year.  In addition to transplanting my sunflower sprouts from the egg carton to the red container, J. and I took Max to the Monterey Bay Aquarium.  (Footnote: prior to maternity leave, I had imagine that maternity break would involve lots of day trips to Monterey to fill the time.  It took me about a year and a week to muster up the courage to do this trip).   I’ll post pics of that tomorrow.

The above pictures represent a photographic “state of the garden” for the new year.  The compost is progressing nicely.  The in-laws are giving us their tumbler composter, which I think will make life much easier.  I’ve been shoveling the compost in our bins every few days to help it along.  Tomorrow morning I may transplant my spinace seedlings to the ground since it looks like we’re going to have a warm week.  I pinched my first mint for a glass of water and it was lovely.   The dead looking tree — is a dead looking tree.  It was in one of the big planters the previous owners left.  I pulled it up and need to chop it down for the city’s yard waste bin.  I think I will plant carrots in the planter it came in, but probably not for another month.

Next project:  empty two other planters of death at the front of the house and plant borage in them.

Another thing that’s surprising me is how little there is of what I’ve planted so far.  I planted two chard baby plants.  It’s been about 6-8 weeks — and while they look pretty, it feels like too small an amount to harvest.  As in, this isn’t even enough for one meal.   I think it may be more satisfying in the summer when hopefully my crop will deliver more.

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    January 2, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Looking good! Are you doing all containers? You mention spinach in the ground? Trying to imagine the layout of the garden! Yes, now is probably a pretty slow grow time (even for you). Watch this summer you’ll have more veggies than you know what to do with!

  2. almostima said,

    January 2, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    All is in containers except strawberry and now spinach. I will move the sunflowers (4 more have sprouted) to the ground when they feel too big for the red containers.

    As for seeing the layout…well, you gotta come out here to check it out. 😉 (Or, I gotta figure out a way to post my little design)


Leave a Reply

