Creamed Spinach & Chard

(First, thanks for the baby motrin tips on the post below.  Either it did the trick, or the phase is passing.  Long story short, we’re all sleeping better)

A few months back, we were eating out at a restaurant with J.’s family.  We ordered a bunch of things we though might work for Max.  He really liked the creamed spinach.  That’s when I was inspired to plant a bunch of spinach so that I could one day make him our very own creamed spinach dish.

Flash forward.  I made the dish (and supplemented with our chard.)  I chopped the stems into it, too, which is why there are little red and yellow touches in there.

I quickly sauted the stems and some garlic in a little butter & olive oil, then I set aside.  I sauted the greens, then set aside and chopped.  Then I made a rue with butter, milk & a little cream and a big pinch of nutmeg. Added the stems/garlic and greens and served immediately. S&P to taste.

Max wouldn’t even taste it, but I loved it.

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    March 8, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Well, Max doesn’t know what he’s missing, I’m sure. Sounds delish.

  2. August 29, 2010 at 5:33 am

    Here is a recipe for The Berghoff’s famous creamed spinach:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/the-berghoffs-famous-creamed-spinach/


Leave a Reply

