Volunteers of America

Last week I volunteered at a Rebuilding Together event.  We refurbished a non-profit daycare. 

This week, Karma repaid the favor by sending me volunteer vegetables in the garden.  My guess is that it’s either cucumber or melon left over from where the compost pile used to be and now smack dab in the middle of the new raised bed.  Here’s hoping these plants can co-exist because I don’t have the heart to yank the volunteers out.  So far I see about 5 volunteers and I think they are different types.

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    May 2, 2010 at 4:19 am

    Very nice. Now, how did you know they were veggies and not weeds? I always yank weeds but worry they are something special after the deed is done.

  2. almostima said,

    May 2, 2010 at 11:37 am

    I happen to have cucumber seeds that I planted in another part of the garden and noticed they look a lot a like. That was my first clue. But I notice that the weeds I typically get look a certain way, these looked different.


Leave a Reply

