I Do By Myself!

That’s a phrase heard around our house a lot.  Usually uttered by our two year old.  He is fiercely independent.  Wonder where he gets this from?

Today I planted our next batch of lettuce and arugula seedlings.  We got a ton of use out of the last crop from the Fall.  Yesterday I transplanted a few pole bean plants and pickling cucumbers into one of our new raised beds in the front yard.  (pictures coming soon).

I’m exhausted, but can’t seem to nap.  Figured I shouldn’t waste Max’s epic nap, so I’ve been cleaning.  I had to research how to approach mopping our engineered hard wood floor.  Wouldn’t you know, the first few hits that I found recommended to use whatever cleaning product the manufacturer recommends.  Well, I didn’t install these floors myself, so who the hell knows what the manufacturer recommends.  And, I’d bet you $4 that the manufacturer stands to make some money off of whatever they recommend.

In the end, I settled on a solution that was 1 to 4 ratio of vinegar to hot water & a little essential oil with orange sent.  I don’t think the orange came through, because I smell mostly vinegar.  So, next time I’ll use more.  I’m thinking that I’ll try more vinegar next time because I do see a little bit of streaking — so maybe it didn’t cut grease well enough with this diluted recipe.

Then, I finished off our Meyer’s all purpose cleaner and took the opportunity to make a fresh batch of all-purpose cleaner myself.  I used a 1 to 1 ratio of water to vinegar with more orange oil.  This actually smelled like orange.  And it worked amazingly well.

While I’m even more tired now, it feels good to know that I don’t have to worry about Max making contact with toxic products that don’t even work all that well …  (the spray I made cleaned up things that Meyer’s didn’t).  Also, from a cost perspective, I am pretty sure we paid something like $6.99 for the Meyer’s spray.  The batch I made up was pennies because we get our vinegar in bulk at costco for like $5-6 (if memory serves).

One thing that is kind of a bummer about no longer using the cleaning service is that I don’t feel like there’s ever a time when the whole house is clean.  We triage different areas based on our tolerance level, but there’s no coming home to a totally clean house.  Oh well. Trade offs.

Leave a Reply

