She Wore Lemon…

Ah, that brings me back.  I may not have mentioned it in a few years, but I’m a massive U2 fan (hence the Lemon title).   This year, I’ll literally be a “massive” U2 fan.  We have tickets to the U2 concert coming up and they are 3 days past my due date.  Yes, I’m planning to hold her in so I can go.

Anyhoo, our tiny little meyer lemon tree has produced a nice batch of lemons.  We use them in soda, iced tea, gin & tonics (none for me), etc.  One of the things I’ve wanted to do was to try my hand at preserved lemons.  But somehow, I felt it was too indulgent to do it with our relatively small crop.  However, tonight J. encouraged me to clean up the remainder of the crop to do with it whatever my heart desired.

It took me all of 2 seconds to jump on it and make preserved lemons tonight.  I plan on using them in middle eastern dishes, or with seafood, cous cous, who knows.  It’s so easy!  I used this recipe.  Now, the month-long wait to use it.

P.S., I enjoy the irony of using a “no preservatives” label on my recycled jar. for my preserved lemon.  It’s just so beautifully yellow… not sure the picture captures it.

P.P.S.  If any of you locals have an abundance of citrus — or any other crop for that matter, drop me a line and let’s see if we can hook up a marmalade/jam exchange or something.

Leave a Reply

