Where Do You Find the Time?

A friend of mine’s mother had a saying: men spend their money where their heart is, and women spend their time where their heart is.

Back in the old days, we used to use this rationale to measure whether the guys we were dating actually liked us, or were stringing us along and should be ditched.  Today I think more about the other side of that equation, women spending their time where their heart is.

I often get asked where I find the time to do the ‘green’ things I do.  The thing is, I think so much of this stuff is more about the mind set you are in.  Many women don’t think anything of spending 30 minutes every morning styling their hair and putting on makeup.   Waiting 30 minutes for a table at Chillis.  Catching up on the latest season of Real Housewives of East Tulsa.  I don’t mean to be pejorative, because we all have our guilty pleasures, or something we do to relax.  But so much of  the ‘crazy’ things I do, doesn’t actually take any meaningful amount of time.

  • It takes 30 more seconds to dump my veggie scraps into compost than it would to dump it in the trash. 
  • When I grow sprouts, it takes running the jar under cold water twice a day (or when I think of it) – 10 seconds.   
  • Planting my seedlings outside tonight: 10 minutes for 4 basil seedlings and 7 tomato plants (which I got tired of looking at under the grow lights, so hopefully they survive out there).   
  • Making muffins so my boy has breakfast for the week – 20-30 minutes. 
  • Banana chips: 60 seconds it took me to slice them, and the dehydrator did the rest. (BTW, I thought I wasn’t a fan, but Max had to fight me for his share of the last batch…). 
  • Making my own cleaning products, takes basically same amount of time as opening a bottle from the store. 
  • Making bread just takes 2 minutes to throw the ingredients into a bowl – then let the yeast do the work for 12-18 hrs.  Then, just being around to turn the dough out onto a cutting board (30 seconds), preheat the oven (30 minutes), and bake the bread (45 min) — and it’s not like I’m watching the bread through the window, I do other stuff while that’s going on.

These things make me happy and I think they make my home a better place for my family.  I don’t mind spending this time, it’s how I show my love.

2 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    April 7, 2011 at 8:08 am

    What a great outlook. I agree – you choose your priorities and often can ‘find the time’ if things are important to you. Green isn’t harder; it’s just about rescheduling your tasks and changing your mindset.

    BTW, I’ve not had home-dehydrated bananas. Different than those you can buy in prepackaged bags at TJs, etc.?

  2. almostima said,

    April 7, 2011 at 9:35 am

    Gretchen — it’s a whole other world. I always thought the store bought banana chips tasted like tan-bark with flavor spray and couldn’t get near them. By contrast, the dehydrated chips I make still have a little bit of give to them so they are almost like fruit leather, and the sweetness is concentrated so it’s almost like candy. I also think it’s best fresh, so I probably won’t be make mass quantities of these and put them up for storage.


Leave a Reply

