All Hail the Kale

A couple of years ago, I think I bought kale at the farmer’s market and cooked it for one of the Dark Days Challenge Meals.  I came away with an “eh” reaction, finding it a little too fibrous for my taste, though it did have a nice smokey taste.  However, when my friend told me that she had an abundance of Kale from her backyard garden, I thought it was worth giving it another shot with a different preparation.  I’m so glad I did!

We worked out a trade where I would give her some of our green beans — which are now producing like mad.  Imagine my shock when I pulled up to her house with my sad little bag of beans, only to find out that they had pulled the entire kale plant!  No joke, this thing took up the entire passenger seat of my car (see photo).   I knew a google search was necessary to figure out several varieties to use up this amazing bounty that I was trusted with.

Meal one:  Sausage Kale Lasagna.

Meal two: scrambled eggs with sausage and sauteed kale

Meal three: raw kale salad

 

I would eat any of these again in a heart beat!

It warms my heart to participate in such a barter among friends.  Thanks Emily and Backpacking Dad

1 Comment

  1. Gretchen said,

    August 27, 2011 at 3:30 am

    I’m a big kale fan anyway, but had a raw kale salad with a citrus dressing the other weekend at a BBQ and fell in love. Never knew raw kale could be so yummy. Glad you had success this go-round!


Leave a Reply

